Skip to content

Roasted Green Beans

July 24, 2013

I’ve been trying to get more veggies into my family, which has been a challenge since hubby is not a fan of veggies.  Yesterday, when I was racking my brain to come up with something that he would like, and that wouldn’t take a whole lot of time, I came up with an idea.  Hubby HATES cooked green beans (it’s a texture thing), but I thought if I put them on a cookie sheet and bake them with seasoning, they wouldn’t be mushy and hubby may actually like them.  And he did!!  Yesterday I cooked them about 30 minutes, a little too long in my opinion.  So, I made them again today (with the very little that I had left, as you can see), and cooked them about 15 minutes and they were really good.  Hubby liked them better cooked longer, though.  I’m sure this is not something new, so I’m not claiming that it is my idea.  I’ve made asparagus this way and thought green beans might be good too! Here’s what I did…

Cut the ends off of the cleaned green beans and lay out on a cookie sheet….

July2013 017_411

 

Drizzle with a little olive oil, but not too much, a little goes a long way.  For this little bunch I had, I used maybe 2-3 teaspoons.  Then sprinkle some Kosher salt, pepper, garlic powder and oregano.  I’m sure adding other herbs and spices would be good too!

July2013 019_412

 

July2013 020_413

Bake at 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes.  Every 5 minutes or so, it is a good idea to stir them around a little.  Enjoy!

July2013 021_414

 

July2013 024_415

Ingredients:

Green beans

2-3 teaspoons Olive oil

1/2 teaspoon Kosher salt

1/8 teaspoon Pepper

1/4 teaspoon Garlic powder

1/4 teaspoon Oregano

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees

Clean green beans and cut off the ends.  Place on a cookie sheet and drizzle with olive oil.  Sprinkle with Kosher salt, pepper, garlic salt and oregano.  Bake for 15-20 minutes or until they are done to your liking.  Stir every 5 minutes.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

