Skip to content

Cool New Fruit!

July 29, 2013

Ok, so it’s not really a new fruit, but new to us!  Brian helped a family move the other day and at the house they were moving from had these cool fruit trees.  Even though Brian has lived here for over 18 years, he has never had this fruit before.  We’ve been seeing them a lot lately on our adventures exploring the area, but had no idea what kind of fruit they were.  The family cut some for us to try and I LOVE them!  In Spanish they are called níspero, and after a google search, found out that they are called loquat fruit.  I know your just dying to see a picture, so I won’t make you wait in suspense any longer…

July2013 003_418

It has a very thin skin that you just peel off…

July2013 005_419

But be careful, they have some larges seeds!  The first I had only had 1 seed, but they can have up to 4.  It has a very soft texture, almost like a very ripe pear, but creamier and it is sweet with a bit of a tartness to it.

July2013 006_420

This one had 3 seeds… I’m going to see if I can get them to germinate to have a tree of my own, though, I read it will take up to 10 years before it is fruit bearing!  I’m not sure I can wait that long!  Too bad our friends moved from the house that had them!!  I’ve yet to see them for sale at the markets.

July2013 010_421

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 29, 2013 1:10 pm

    I’ve heard that they make good jam, but I’ve never tried it. The inside is really interesting looking. Do they all have 3 seeds or do some have more?

    • July 29, 2013 6:26 pm

      I read that too, about the jam… If I can get more of them, I would love to try it! Most that I’ve had have had 2 or 3 seeds. I’m saving all the seeds to have trees… if nothing else, they will look pretty in a yard wherever we end up!

Leave a Reply

