Skip to content

Refrigerator Makeover! Trial and Error…

July 29, 2013

Last November before we moved from our furnished apartment in the capital to an unfurnished home in Santa Maria we bought a refrigerator off of a missionary that had left the country.  It was $350 for this 5 year old used refrigerator, which was an amazing deal when a new refrigerator of the same size and brand is about $1,000 plus.  It had some superficial problems… but the way the kitchen was set up, it wouldn’t show at all.

But then we moved into my in-laws house while they are on furlough.  And as you can see, it greets you as you walk in the door!  Really, who cares, right?  It’s not a big deal.  Certainly not a big enough deal to buy a new one, because it works just fine!

July2013 001_416

I will admit, I have a bit of any obsession with a certain website, but, it can be a really good thing, because so many times Pinterest has saved the day!!  I saw that you can make your refrigerator into a chalkboard and thought, “How cool is that?!”  So after a google search, found out what you need to make chalkboard paint (because we didn’t want to run all around creation looking for a store that might have it.)  It turns out, I happened to bring down a container of plaster of Paris that had been given to me!  I looked at several different websites for a “recipe” and they all said something different, so I just picked one, 4 tablespoons plaster of Paris, 2 tablespoons water, 2 cups paint.  I followed the directions for mixing the first time and it turned out really, really bad!  The plaster of Paris was way too thick and I had to keep adding water, then, (not having worked with plaster of Paris before) I didn’t have my paint open and ready to pour, so the plaster of Paris hardened.  I added more water and it was still kinda clumpy, but thought the paint would smooth it out.  Ummm no, that didn’t work.  So I had lumpy paint, and too much of it!  Not one to let things go to waste (especially paint that is kind of expensive to begin with), I went ahead and painted the refrigerator.  I tried to pick out the lumps, but it was hard to get them all.  After and hour I did a second coat.  It looked bad, honestly…  the next day I took a putty knife and scraped off all the little bumps… then it looked really, really, really bad!  I let it go for a couple of days and tired to get my courage up to try again.  After another google search I found a 1 part water 2 part plaster of Paris and 3 parts paint.  I thought that sound a little better.  But again I had to keep adding water, just about equal parts, I think.  I had the paint all ready this time and added it quickly.  It mixed beautifully!!  So, here is the finished result!  It really doesn’t work as well as a chalk board, not one to write on and erase a gazillion times anyway.  Wiping it with a damp cloth to get the chalk off, some of the paint comes off onto the rag.  But if I don’t wipe it a lot, it should be fine. Smile  Looks a lot better, huh?

July2013 001_417

 

Now, isn’t this a “welcome”-ing sight! Hehe! (Incase you don’t know, bienvenido means welcome). Winking smile

July2013 001_426

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    July 29, 2013 7:24 pm

    Looks great! Love, Aunt Rhea:))))))))))))))))))))))))))

    • July 30, 2013 9:40 am

      Thanks Aunt Rhea!

  2. July 30, 2013 11:55 am

    Wow! Love it!

    • August 22, 2013 5:15 pm

      Thanks!

  3. July 30, 2013 1:08 pm

    This is great! Who would’ve thought to do that? I know you did, and I give you an A+ for idea, inventiveness in doing it, and your results. How fun! :o)

    • August 22, 2013 5:15 pm

      Thank! I can’t take all the credit, though since I saw someone do something similar. 🙂 I am rather pleased with how it turned out!

  4. August 4, 2013 7:38 pm

    My refrigerator looks about the same as hours does. I so badly want to get it painted. You have given me hope. ha ha

    • August 22, 2013 5:14 pm

      Yes, there is hope!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

